kirby history

Kirby has been an established community since May of 1955. The City of Kirby, located eight miles west of Randolph Air Force Base on FM 78, and three miles east of Ft. Sam Houston Joint Base, is primarily a residential community with a population of approximately 8,765 and occupies about 2 square miles.

A plantation man from South Carolina, named Kirby, owned land containing large trees, which he cut and used to make railroad ties. Kirby selected the area where the City is located to stockpile his railroad ties and when crews needed more, the common remark “Kirby Ties” was used as method of identification.

Railroad construction actually began about 1890 and Kirby came on the scene between 1900-1910. The City was incorporated in 1955. Just a short drive from San Antonio, Fort Sam Houston and Randolph, Kirby operates under a home rule charter and council-manager form of government consisting of a mayor and six council members.

The Mayor is Janeshia A. Grider. The City Council includes Sylvia Apodaca, Chris Garza, Maria D. Lozano, Joe Molina, Sally J. Hitt and Mike Martin. City Hall is located at 112 Bauman Street, built on the same site of the former City Hall. Council meetings are held at 7 p.m. on the second and fourth Thursdays of each month.

Children attend school in the Judson Independent School District at Hopkins Elementary, Kirby Middle School, and Wagner High School. CPS Energy provides natural gas and electricity to the City and wastewater treatment is through the San Antonio Water System. Kirby has its own water supply from two wells. Solid waste and recycling are collected under a contract with Republic Services.

Former Mayors
Term Mayor
1955 – 1962 Frank Jaenke
1962 -1967 Leroy Borchers
1963-1973 Milton Hoeneke
1973-1975 Jerry Lehman
1975-1980 Milton Hoeneke
1981-1985 Gary West
1985-1987 Thomas Webb
1987-1991 Warren Larck
1991-1992 Lloyd Opperman
1992-1995 Jerry Kneupper
1995-1997 Pryor Smith
1997-2001 Johnny Duffek, Jr.
2001-2007 Ray Martin
2007-2012 Johnny Duffek, Jr.
2012-2017 Timothy J. Wilson
2017-2021 Lisa B. Pierce
2021-2023 Kimberly Aldrich McGehee